

Note of last Councillors' Forum meeting

Title: Councillors' Forum

Date: Thursday 20 October 2016

Venue: Westminster Suite, 8th Floor, Local Government House, Smith Square,

London, SW1P 3HZ

Attendance

An attendance list is attached as **Appendix A** to this note

Item Decisions and actions

1 What Next for Housing?

The Chairman opened the meeting, welcomed members and introduced guest speakers.

Terrie Alafat, Chief Executive of the Chartered Institute for Housing, informed members that the Institute were convening roundtables with local authorities and housing associations to discuss working together to address the growing pressure for housing, particularly in the wake of increasing consumer concern with the shortage. She discussed problems with current housing policy, and the past focus on economic growth. She emphasised that a long term strategy to address the problem would be needed, which considered the effects of the economic downturn, complications resulting from a long term undersupply, and issues such as ageing and homelessness. The private sector would be unable to deliver the houses needed alone, and local government could play a role in addressing the problem.

Hugh Ellis, Interim Chief Executive of the Town and Country Planning Association (TCPA), discussed planning and its function for place making, suggesting that it could be part of the solution to the housing crisis. He advised members of the new communities group the TCPA were running to look at delivery models and emphasised that the private sector could not fill the demand for housing alone. He highlighted the success of early new towns (such as Milton Keynes), and suggested that a new locally led model for towns was needed.

Emma Maier, Editor of Inside Housing, highlighted gaps in development and suggested that local authorities could play a major role in meeting demand for housing. She discussed a number of issues, including the greenbelt, land banking, planning consent, land contamination and problems with infrastructure which required solutions before building could begin. She highlighted the problem caused by uncertainty on whether local government could play a role in delivering housing, and that there was a variance of opinion in the sector on the way forward. Clear leadership could address this problem.



The floor was opened up for questions:

- As the build out rate in some areas was only 10%, members asked how to achieve the remaining 90% within a limited timeframe.
- Members highlighted problems with housing in unaffordable areas of London and the government's focus on the free market.
- Members agreed that local government would need to be involved in building in order to create the volume of housing needed. There was a discussion on how to capture uplift in land value.
- It was emphasised that reliance on Registered Social Landlords had been problematic, since RSLs only managed stock but did not build. It was felt local government had a role to play in delivering housing, and it would be beneficial if authorities could borrow against existing housing stock to assist them with this.
- The demands of an ageing population and the impact this would have on housing was discussed. Increasing pressure on hospitals and care homes meant that many would need to be cared for at home in the future. It was suggested existing housing stock should be adapted to provide for this.
- It was emphasised that new responsibilities delegated to local government would need to be funded.

The debate was closed.

2 Chairman's Update

Members **noted** the Chairman's report.

3 LGA Boards Chair's Reports

Members **noted** the reports from the LGA Board Chairs.

4 Digest of the last meeting

The notes of the last meeting were **agreed** as an accurate summary of the discussion.



Appendix A - Attendance

Position/Role	Councillor	Authority
Chairman	Lord Gary Porter	South Holland District Council
Members	Cllr David Hodge Cllr Gillian Brown Cllr Roger Phillips Cllr Robert Light Cllr Peter Fleming OBE Cllr Colin Noble Cllr Izzi Seccombe Cllr Paul Bettison OBE Cllr Morris Bright Cllr Tom Fitzpatrick Cllr Nigel Ashton Cllr Glen Sanderson JP Cllr Tony Jackson Cllr Rory Love Cllr Simon Henig CBE Cllr Simon Blackburn Cllr Michael Payne Cllr John Merry CBE Cllr Sue Woodward Cllr Bryony Rudkin Cllr Helen Holland Cllr Linda Thomas Cllr Tudor Evans OBE Cllr Alan Rhodes Cllr Andy Moorhead Cllr Amy Cross Cllr Peter Reeve Cllr Bob Dutton OBE Cllr Alan Seldon Cllr Howard Sykes MBE Cllr Ian Stephens	Surrey County Council Arun District Council Herefordshire Council Kirklees Metropolitan Council Sevenoaks District Council Suffolk County Council Warwickshire County Council Bracknell Forest Borough Council Hertsmere Borough Council North Norfolk District Council North Somerset Council Northumberland Council East Herts Council Shepway District Council Durham County Council Blackpool Council Gedling Borough Council Salford City Council Staffordshire County Council Suffolk County Council Bolton Council Plymouth City Council Nottinghamshire County Council Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council Blackpool Council Cambridgeshire County Council Wrexham County Borough Council Herefordshire Council
Apologies	Cllr David Simmonds CBE Cllr John Beesley Cllr Simon Cooke Cllr James Jamieson Cllr Neil Clarke MBE Cllr Rebecca Knox Baroness Couttie of Downe Cllr Mark Hawthorne MBE Cllr Paul Carter CBE Cllr Keith Glazier Cllr Peter Golds CBE Cllr Kevin Bentley Cllr William Nunn Cllr John Fuller Cllr Kay Hammond Cllr Stephen Parnaby OBE	Hillingdon London Borough Council Bournemouth Borough Council Bradford Metropolitan District Council Central Bedfordshire Council Rushcliffe Borough Council Dorset County Council Westminster City Council Gloucestershire County Council Kent County Council East Sussex County Council Tower Hamlets Council Colchester Borough Council Breckland Council South Norfolk District Council Surrey County Council East Riding of Yorkshire Council



Cllr Roy Perry

Cllr Sharon Taylor OBE

Cllr Anne Western CBE

Cllr James Dawson

Cllr Sarah Hayward Cllr Paul Watson

Cllr Kate Haigh

Cllr Aaron Shotton

Cllr Judith Blake

Cllr Barrie Grunewald

Cllr Rishi Shori

Mayor Marvin Rees

Cllr Marianne Overton

MBE

Cllr Chris Townsend

Cllr Robert Bucke

Cllr Colin Mann

Cllr Lisa Brett

Cllr Richard Kemp CBE

Cllr Claire Hudson

Cllr Heather Kidd

Cllr Mike Bell

Mayor Dave Hodgson

MBE

Hampshire County Council Stevenage Borough Council Derbyshire County Council

Erewash Borough Council

Camden Council

Sunderland City Council

Gloucester City Council

Flintshire County Council Leeds City Council

St Helens Metropolitan Borough Council

Bury Metropolitan Borough Council

Bristol City Council

Lincolnshire County Council

Surrey County Council Tendring District Council

Caerphilly County Borough Council

Bath & North East Somerset Council

Liverpool City Council

Mendip District Council

Shropshire Council North Somerset Council

Bedford Borough Council